Q&A with Nickelodeon Parents Connect- Jill Smokler

9 Mar
.
As we navigate the blogosphere, we find lots of blogs. Some we like, some we love….
But I’ve found it takes a special kind of blog to make you come back day after day, and a special kind of blogger to write posts that after a while make you feel like they are an old friend you’ve know personally for years.
.
.
For me, one of those bloggers- is Scary Mommy, who in “real life” is known better as Jill and actually isn’t very scary at all.
.
I met Jill in person for the first time last year at Blogher. She was trying to figure out her transition to WordPress and I was avoiding WordPress at all costs. Since then so much has changed.
.
For Jill, she has not only mastered WordPress (though I know she’s going to disagree), but recently made the leap from personal blogger- to brand blogger when she joined the Nickelodeon Family as Parent Connect’s Community Manager.

.
If you aren’t familiar with Nickelodeon’s Parents Connect you should definitely visit the site and check it out. It is a great community for parents to discuss everything from potty training to preschool.
.
One of the issues we all face as parents is seeking & perfecting that balance in our day.  Is there such a thing as balance and perfection? I have my doubts. but, I thought who better to lend some insight, than Jill?
.
So I set up a fun Q&A with her to discuss parenting, toys and to see just how she juggles being a rock star mom and a rock star blogger.
.
– Corine
.

When and why did you decide to start blogging?

I started blogging when my youngest was born. I was desperate for a creative outlet and wanted to keep a sort of baby book for my three kids. I had no idea what opportunities would arise from blogging– I was simply looking for a way to make the days go by a little faster.
.

You have turned your hobby of blogging into a career over the past year, most recently landing a position as community manager with Nickelodeon’s popular “Parent’s Connect” site.

What were some things/ moments that you feel changed your outlook and goals  from hobby blogger to professional blogger?

.
The sheer amount of time I spent on it. I felt like blogging had turned into pretty much a full time job that didn’t pay. Being able to stay connected with my bloggy pals and be involved with the social media I have come to love AND get paid? It’s pretty much a dream come true!
.
What do you believe is the secret of balancing career and family?
.

think the secret is to separate the two. Have clear boundaries and work at work time and play at play time. Do I do that? No. I struggle every single day. It’s the hardest part about working!

.

What do you love most about working with Nickelodeon’s Parent Connect?

.

I love Parents Connect’s tagline: We’re not perfect… We’re parents. The people who work there all echo that sentiment, and family always comes first. It’s a fun, upbeat company and I find myself more positive because of work– that’s a pretty amazing thing!

.
The other day, we saw you tweeted “A person soon learns how little he knows when a child begins to ask questions. — Richard L. Evans” .. what are some crazy questions you’re kids have stumped you on?
.
The tough questions always get me: What happens when we die? Why isn’t there magic? Will you take care of me forever? My middle son says “why” more than anything. It’s totally exhausting!
.
As a mom of 3, you are no stranger to the toy world, what toys have you and your kids found that you love? and which drive you crazy?
.
Anything that makes noise drives me crazy– we have enough of that already! I tend to just let batteries die and never replace them. We all love puzzles and Play-Doh– they entertain my kids for hours!
.
We recently launched a new feature on our site, called Wish.it.  It allows you to share your child’s toy wishes with your friends on Facebook by clicking a button at the bottom of the product page.
.
If you’re child could wish for just 1 item each on The Big Toy Book, what would they be?
.

My daughter would flip for the Camille Ballerina— she’s been asking for a ballerina doll for a while and that’s the cutest I’ve seen. My middle is Lego obsessed and the Power Miners Titanium Command Rig would make his eyes pop out of his head! My youngest is easy to please and loves nothing more than baths. I think the Ship Squirter would make his day.

2 Responses to “Q&A with Nickelodeon Parents Connect- Jill Smokler”

  1. Cristy Vrbka March 21, 2010 at 10:15 pm #

    I wanted to thank you for this excellent read!! I definitely enjoyed every little bit of it. I have you bookmarked your site to check out the new stuff you post.

  2. Arnetta Fockler April 16, 2010 at 12:59 pm #

    I read your blog often and I just thought I’d say keep up the amazing work!

Leave a Reply

