Sharing 5th birthday wishes on Facebook

2 Apr

.

It seems like just yesterday, my baby looked like this:

But sadly, it was not just yesterday. It was years ago– 5 to be exact! I know 5 doesn’t sound very old to many, but to me- it is. I’m still figuring this parenting thing out and my little man goes and turns 5 on me? Who gave him permission to do that? Certainly not I.

Every year when Ryan’s birthday rolls around I am bombarded with questions of “what does he want?” …  “What is he into?”. Sounds like easy enough questions- but they always catch me off guard- even now- … FIVE … (gulp)  …years later.

The beauty about this year though is that I was able to tell my friends and family- who are all on facebook (sometimes for better or for worse- with their Farmville addictions) to check out my facebook stream… all of my sons wishes were posted right there from The Big Toy Book.

So for instance–

As soon as I posted the toys, people who saw it would comment on them “calling” their gift so that no one else made the same purchase (a la my son’s 4th birthday when we wound up with 3 Ben 10 Omnitrix’s) It became a game of “I saw it first” amongst our family. It was also great because even if they didn’t get to “call” the toys we wished for- it gave them a sense of “what he is into these days”… and most of all it took the pressure off of me having to come up with gift ideas on the spot.

The Wish button can be found on the bottom of all products on The Big Toy Book. Check it out when you have a chance- its a lot of fun- and slightly addictive  to play around with.

If you’re looking for ideas for a 5 year old super hero like mine- here are some other toys he wished for from The Big Toy Book-

Buzz Blaster

Buzz Blaster

Scooby Doo 3-D Haunted Mansion Game

Scooby Doo 3-D Haunted Mansion Game

Play-doh Fun Factory

Play-doh Fun Factory

Iron Man Arc Chest Light

Iron Man Arc Chest Light

Bakugan Battle Pack

Bakugan Battle Pack

– Corine

One Response to “Sharing 5th birthday wishes on Facebook”

  1. Jenn April 5, 2010 at 2:55 am #

    Happy Birthday to your little boy!

Leave a Reply

