Quick & Easy Snacking Can Be Healthy Too!

13 Apr
.

GUEST POST By: Lisa of Frugal Family Fun

.

Moms everywhere are constantly thinking about the health of their kids. I know for me it is a daily worry- especially when my kids- like most, would choose a french fry over veggies any day. Most important thing to remember as a parent is this is NORMAL! It can take 10 times before a child likes a new food.  The key is to keep offering the snacks and to try to make it enjoyable!

.
Fighting over food will get you no where.  We’ve all heard the “I don’t like it”excuse when a child doesn’t want to eat what is on there plate. I have heard it so often, I felt like my kids weren’t getting the proper nutrients they needed.  So I started “sneaking” veggies into their diet.  Here are a few of my favorite tips to get the kids to eat and maybe even love veggies-
.

1. Offer veggies with ranch.  Tried and true.  Offer a variety and see what they like and keep offering it!!  Also offer things even if you don’t like, because that thing may be your child’s favorite.

.

2. Offer veggie drinks like V8 Splash, that have a serving of veggies in every serving!  I have also found Fruitables from Apple and Eve, which are convenient fruit/veggie juice boxes!

.

.3. Look for canned pasta that say “one serving of vegetables inside”(such as ravioli, spaghetti rings, etc.), these are usually the kinds of things kids will eat.  It is important to find the one that says there are veggies inside, because the others are not as healthy.

.

4. Make burgers with ground up veggies. We made some with green and red bell peppers, onions and garlic. We just cut them up, put them into a mini hand food processor until it was really chopped, then
mixed by hand into the meat.  After making patties we cooked them and they were a HUGE hit!!  There was easily 1 if not 2 servings of veggies in those burgers!  (this is my favorite tip!!)

.

5. Check out some healthy snack recipe books – such as  The Sneaky Chef for fabulously yummy treats with lots of veggies! Another great recipe book is  “Food For Tots” by Dr.Janice Woolley, Pediatrician, and Jennifer Pugmire, Mom. There are many recipes you can find in Food For Tots like: Breakfast Burritos, English Muffin Pizza and Homemade Mac and Cheese.

.

Here is a quick and easy one for you to try:

.
Orange Banana Milk
.
What you will need:
1 2/3 cups milk
1/3 cup frozen orange juice concentrate
1/2 of a medium banana
.
For a quick and yummy breakfast drink, place  all ingredients in a
blender. Cover and blend until foamy.
Serve immediately or the banana will make your drink turn brown!
.
There are plenty of quick and easy healthy snack recipes like these that you can find in book like “Food For Tots”  and online.
.
Enjoy & Happy Snacking!
.

About the Blogger:

.
Living in Washington State her whole life- this 23 yr old married mama of 3 is also a full time college student pursuing a degree in Psychology with a minor in Spanish .
When Lisa is not studying or spending time with her family (and their 2 dogs!) she loves contesting and blogging on her site Frugal Family Fun where she is always holding great giveaways for her readers.
6 Responses to “Quick & Easy Snacking Can Be Healthy Too!”

  1. Laurie April 13, 2010 at 6:51 am #

    Lisa…thanks for sharing all of this. From the time my kids were little I’ve always tried to offer up healthy snacks. Apples and peanut butter go a long way in my house (even now with teens)…and cheerios were the choice food to travel with. Here’s a tip (which is fun) and what I did when the kids were little and we were shopping together, as it’s easy for them to be attracted to boxes. To this day I simply say (before even checking the sugar content which comes next) read me all the ingrediants out loud. If you can’t say it and if we are all clueless as to what it is, it doesn’t come into the house. Next we look at sugar (and usually tell them the number should come in under 10….but under 5 is even better)! The exception to the sugar rule is ice cream…we all need one vice right??
    Laurie

  2. complicatedmama April 13, 2010 at 2:19 pm #

    I love your suggestions! My son loves the fruitables. Snack time can be tricky for Moms with picky eaters! I think your suggestions will definitely help give Moms some new ideas.

    In my house we are trying out a new product at my house called "snack time survival" – helps manage snack time expectations- encourages healthy eating — and teaches the basics of telling time for preschoolers. I will be sure to let everyone know how it is when we've had some more time with it! 🙂

    I also love Laurie's (Toy Insider Mom) suggestion of making the children read the ingredients out loud- the rule of "If you cant pronounce it- it doesnt come in the house" cracks me up.

  3. Reyne April 13, 2010 at 4:31 pm #

    Hi Lisa, Thanks for giving us and our readers some great tips. I can't wait to try out the Orange Banana Milk shake for myself. What a great idea!

    Another suggestion we always used was to offer up fruit as an after -dinner snack. Strawberries with yogurt or a delicious tray of peach slices and orange slices, with a few raspberries or watermelon slices added in. A morning time fruit option is to finely dice strawberries and cantaloupe into a spoonable mixture and use it as a topping for waffles, instead of syrup. Plus grated apples in the waffles or pancakes adds a great flavor and consistency, and the kids can join in by grating the apples. Thanks, Lisa! From Reyne

  4. Jackie April 13, 2010 at 8:43 pm #

    Lisa, thanks for these suggestions! As a new mom (of a 6 month old) I'm already starting to think about healthy eating as I weigh the benefits of making my own baby food (with what time?!) and buying Gerber Organics versus regular Stage 1 foods. Of course I want to raise a healthy eater and I figure starting off right is the best way to go. That means my husband and I are going to have to part with some bad snack foods… we have to be good role models! But a little cheating is ok too in my book… I need some candy to remain sane!
    Thanks for the recipe as well… yummy!
    –Jackie

  5. Lucina Blackston April 20, 2010 at 6:20 pm #

    Excellent post. Hope to read much more good posts in the future.

  6. Sage Hannula April 21, 2010 at 5:57 am #

    Very interesting post thanks for sharing I just added your website to my bookmarks and will check back.

Leave a Reply

